ALC'17 Logo
ALC ’17
December 3 (Sun) – 8 (Fri), 2017
Aqua Kauai Beach Resort, Kauai, HI, USA
(Current date/time: October 22, 2017 / 15:31 JST)
ALC'17 Logo

Invited Speakers (tentative)

Tutorial speakers

Hajo Freund (Friz Haber Institute)
“The surface science of catalysis and more, using ultrathin oxide films as templates: a perspective”
Chuhei Osima (Waseda University)
“Extreme high vacuum and high-resolution electron spectroscopy”

Plenary speakers

Tetsuya Ishikawa (RIKEN SPring-8)
“New trends in atomic level characterization with synchrotron radiation and free-electron lasers”
Matthias Scheffler (Fritz Haber Institut)
“Big-data routes for atomic-level characterization of novel materials”

Invited speakers

Michael Altman (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Fritz Aumayr (TU Wien)
“Femtosecond electronic response of graphene to the strong and localized electric field of a highly charged ion”
Peter Bauer (Linz University)
“Electronic stopping of protons in metals and in metal oxides”
Boklae Cho (Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science)
Wolfgang Eberhardt (TU Berlin)
“Research for the energy system of the future”
Karl-Haniz Ernst (EMPA, Zulich)
“Helical molecules at surfaces: selective chemistry and molecular machines”
Franz J. Giessibl (University of Regensburg)
“Atomic force microscopy with atomically engineered tips”
Thomas Greber (Universitat Zurich)
“Taming 4f electrons in endohedral single molecule magnets”
Torgny Gustafsson (Rutgers University)
“Helium ion microscopy studies of biological systems”
Terumitsu Hasebe (Tokai University)
Shuji Hassegawa (University of Tokyo)
“Spin splitting and superconductivity at monatomic layers on crystal surfaces”
Frank Meyer zu Heringerhof (University Duisburg -Essen)
“Subfemtosecond dynamics of orbital angular momentum in nanoplasmonic spirals”
Ing-Shouh Hwang (Academia Sinica)
“High-brightness electron and ion sources based on nanoemitters”
Aleksander Jabłoński (Institute of Physical Chemistry, Warsaw)
“Parameterization of quantitative applications of electron spectroscopies”
Xiuguang Jin (KEK)
“Development of high performance spin-polarized photocathode and its application”
Hee Jae Kang (Chungbuk National University)
“Applications of electron spectroscopy to oxide thin film devices”
Tadahiro Kawasaki (Fine Ceramics Center)
“Development of Cs-corrector with electrostatic field formed by annular and circular electrodes”
Yousoo Kim (RIKEN)
“Single-molecule optical spectroscopy for investigating energy transfer/conversion with STM”
Kazuhida Nagashima (University of Hawaii at Mauna)
“Micro analyses of primitive meteorites: Probing the early Solar System history”
Takamasa Nonaka (Toyota Central R&D Labs., Inc.,)
“Synchrotron radiation-based X-ray characterization of Li-ion battery”
Ichiro Onishi (JEOL)
“In-situ and analytical applications using aberration corrected microscope”
Daniel Primetzhofer (Uppsala University)
“Ion-solid interaction studied by TOF-MEIS: from electronic excitations to photon and particle emission”
Harald Rose (Ulm University)
Andreas K. Schmid (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
Claus M. Schneider (Research Center, Juelich)
Wolf-Dieter Schneider (EPF Lausanne/FHI Berlin)
“Atomic structure of supported ultrathin germania films”
Mitsutoshi Seto (Hamamatsu University School of Medicine)
“Creation of life science basis by quantum technology”
Jun Takahashi (Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation)
“Application of atom probe tomography to fundamental issues of steel materials”
Sen Takeda (Yamanashi University)
“Reductionism converged into artificial intelligence: mass spectrometry based-diagnosis of cancer”
Toshiaki Tanigaki (Hitachi, Ltd.)
“New visions by high voltage electron holography”
Peter Varga (Vienna University of Technology)
“Magnonic structure on thin FeNi films made by FIB”
Michael Horn von Hagen (University Duisburg-Essen)
“Optically excited structural transition in atomic wires on surfaces at the quantum limit”
Wolf Widdra (Halle-Wittenberg)
“Photoemission and double photoemission with high-harmonic laser radiation”
Roland Wiesendanger (University of Hamburg)
“Bottom-up construction and atomic-level characterization of spin chains on superconducting substrates for topological quantum computation”

Invited speakers for speciall session
— Characterizations of Water at Surface and Interface —

Hiroharu Yui (Tokyo University of Science)
“Vibrational spectroscopic study on the phase transition of water in nanospace and at interfaces”
Robert W. Carpick (University of Pennsylvania)
“The strong effect of water on friction at nano and micro scales”
DaeWon Moon (Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science and Technology (DGIST))
“Investigation of liquid interface structure with ion beam analysis”

Invited speakers for speciall session
— 3D atomic visualization and characterization of functionally active site —

Geoff Thornton (University College London)
“Atomic level structure of the interface between titanium oxides and liquid water”
Chuck Fadley (University of California, Davis)
“LookingInto complex quantum materials and multilayer heterostructures with StandingWave-, Holographic- and Resonant- Photoemission ”
Tomohiro Matsushita (JASRI)
Lippmaa Mikk (University of Tokyo)
FOCUS JEOL ScientaOmicron Shimadzu
Hitachi High-Tech
Nano Science Science Laboratories Tokyo Electronics Pascal VIC International
JSPS Logo SSSJ Logo ASS Logo W-FST Logo